Thursday, October 9, 2008

2008 Merit Scholarship Winners

The Southern Arizona Chess Association is pleased to offer merit-based scholarships up to the amount of $300 to any eligible scholastic chess player from the Southern Arizona region. The scholarships are awarded yearly, after the release of the April USCF Ratings Supplement.

Congratulations to the 2008 Merit Scholarship Winners:

5th grade – Bryan Hu (1780), Kinsleigh Wong (1536)
8th grade - Andy Lin (2056)
9th grade – Kevin Zhang (2108)
10th grade – Ashu Thakur (1979)
12th grade – Landon Brownell (2265), Vaishnav Aradhyula (2214), Jonathan Cox (2115)

(No winners in 3rd, 4th, 6th, 7th, or 11th grade)

To learn more about this award, visit

No comments: