Wednesday, October 2, 2013

2012-2013 Landon Brownell Memorial Chess Scholarship Recipients

The SACA Board of Directors is pleased to announce the recipients of the Landon Brownell Memorial Chess Scholarship for the 2012-2013 chess year. The purpose of the scholarship is to provide support to Southern Arizona scholastic chess players who have demonstrated excellence in chess and a desire to further their chess development.

The recipients were confirmed at the SACA Board meeting held on 9/30/13, and should be receiving their official letter this week.

The SACA Board congratulates these players on their rating achievement and looks forward to their continued chess success in southern Arizona.

2012-2013 scholarship recipients:

3rd Grade: Jonathan Martinez. Eli Cindrich, Brian Belakovsky

6th Grade: Ryan Thompson (Honorable Mention), Daniel Shevelev (Honorable Mention)

7th Grade: Ethan Li, Sreekar Bommireddy (Honorable Mention)

8th Grade: Xiexan Wang (Honorable Mention)

9th Grade: Rohan Mittal, Bohan Li (Honorable Mention)

10th Grade: Bryan Hu, Kinsleigh Wong (Honorable Mention), Derek Chen (Honorable Mention)

12th Grade: Steven Pennock, Justin Arnold (Honorable Mention)

For more information about the Landon Brownell Memorial Chess Scholarship and for eligibility requirements, please visit:

No comments: